πŸ›οΈ State licensure

Dentist Licensure Requirements in Mississippi

Founder, DentistryHires
September 2026

Mississippi licenses dentists on a board-administered examination β€” the ADA's compilation lists the ADEX (CDCA-WREB-CITA) and SRTA clinical examinations β€” plus a Mississippi jurisprudence exam.

Graduates of CODA-accredited dental schools must also complete the National Board Examinations; foreign-trained graduates follow a separate pathway built on post-doctoral education.

Mississippi offers a licensure-by-credentials route for dentists who have been in active practice for five years and currently hold a license in a state the Board deems equivalent to Mississippi's standards.

Renewal is biennial, with 40 hours of continuing education.

Verify before you rely on this

The ADA attempts to keep this information current based on information from state dental boards, clinical testing agencies and state dental associations. Individuals seeking dental licensure should consult with the state board of dentistry and their professional advisors for the complete and most recent dental licensure information, application requirements, forms and fees. This page summarizes the ADA Council on Dental Education and Licensure, Mississippi Laws & Rules (Updated 29 November 2025) and is general information, not legal advice. Dentists in Mississippi are regulated by the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners.

At a glance

ADA compilation, updated 29 November 2025

Clinical exam accepted

ADEX (CDCA-WREB-CITA) Β· SRTA

Per state statute or rule

Continuing education

40 hours of Board-approved CDE per biennial renewal period

Conditions apply β€” see below

Licensure by credentials

Pathway exists

Verified September 2026

Regulated by

Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners

Initial Licensure Examination Requirements

πŸ“œ Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners - Dental - Licensure by Examination

The ADA lists two examinations for Mississippi: the American Board of Dental Examiners (ADEX) examination as administered by CDCA-WREB-CITA, and SRTA.

The Board's own guidance adds that it accepts applications for licensure by examination from candidates who successfully completed a licensure examination administered by ADEX, the North East Regional Board of Dental Examiners (NERB), the Council of Interstate Testing Agencies (CITA), or SRTA, within five years of successful completion.

β€œThe Board met on January 13, 2023 and approved acceptance of the hybrid of either manikin or patient-based clinical examinations on a permanent basis.”

General Licensure Requirements

πŸ“œ Mississippi Code, Title 73, Chapter 9, Sec. 73-9-23 (Examinations for License); Board Regulation Number 14 – Candidate Participation in Licensure Examination

Section 73-9-23 requires every applicant to pass a Board examination, applying in writing and paying a nonrefundable fee at least 30 days before the exam.

A graduate of a CODA-accredited dental school must be at least 21 years old, of good moral character, hold a high school education, and have completed Parts I and II of the National Board Examinations, unless the applicant graduated before 1960.

A graduate of a non-ADA-accredited foreign dental school instead must be proficient in English, have completed at least six academic years of postsecondary study, already hold a license to practice in the country of training, have completed at least two years of full-time post-doctoral dental education at a CODA-accredited school certified by that school's dean as equivalent, and have completed Parts I and II of the National Boards.

Section 73-9-23 also lets the Board require that examinations be conducted using live human subjects.

Board Regulation Number 14 additionally requires every candidate for licensure by examination to pass a Mississippi jurisprudence examination within 90 days of applying.

β€œAll candidates applying for licensure by examination also shall be required to successfully complete a Mississippi jurisprudence examination based upon the laws and regulations currently adopted by the Board, such examination to be completed within ninety (90) days from the date the candidate makes application to the Board for a license by examination.”

License by Credential/Endorsement Requirements

πŸ“œ Mississippi Code, Title 73, Chapter 9, Sec. 73-9-24 (Alternative Procedure for Qualifying for License Based on Credentials); Board Regulation Number 47 – Licensure by Credentials

Section 73-9-24 lets the Board, in its sole discretion, grant a license to an applicant who graduated from a CODA-accredited school; has been in active practice or full-time dental education for the past five years; holds a current, valid, unrestricted license in a state the Board deems equivalent to Mississippi and that grants reciprocity to Mississippi licensees; provides an endorsement from every state where they are or have ever been licensed; has no pending or final disciplinary action or pending investigation in any state; has passed a state or regional clinical licensure exam and not failed one elsewhere in the past five years, and has never failed a Mississippi exam; agrees in writing to appear for Board interviews; has completed the National Board Examinations (unless the applicant graduated before 1960); passes a written jurisprudence examination; and pays the application fee.

Board Regulation Number 47 clarifies that 'actively practicing' means a minimum of 90 days of practice per year, and that an approved residency program may count toward the five-year active-practice requirement.

β€œCurrently hold a valid, unrestricted and unexpired license in a state whose standards for licensure are determined by the board as equivalent to Mississippi's standards, and which state grants reciprocity or licensure by credentials to licensees of the State of Mississippi;”

Specialty Practice

πŸ“œ Mississippi Code, Title 73, Chapter 9, Sec. 73-9-28 (Issuance of Special License, Certificate or Permit for Teaching or Dental Practice in Limited Categories) and Sec. 73-9-29 (Certification of Dental Specialists); Board Regulation Number 7 and Board Regulation Number 43 (Advertising)

The Board may issue special institutional, teaching, provisional, and military-spouse licenses under Section 73-9-28 and Board Regulation Number 7.

Under Section 73-9-29, a Mississippi-licensed dentist who has met the requirements of the ADA's Council on Dental Education, or otherwise met the Board's rules, in a specialty branch may apply for a specialist certificate; a dentist may not hold out as a specialist or advertise as such until the Board has issued that certificate.

The Board recognizes the currently recognized dental specialties defined by the National Commission on Recognition of Dental Specialties and Certifying Boards and the ADA, including Dental Anesthesiology, Dental Public Health, Endodontics, Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology, Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Oral Medicine, Orofacial Pain, Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics, Pediatric Dentistry, Periodontics, and Prosthodontics.

Board Regulation Number 43 requires that any advertisement referencing services state either 'general practice' or 'general dentistry,' or the ADA-recognized specialty the dentist practices, immediately after the dentist's name and degree.

Continuing Education

πŸ“œ Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners, Board Regulation Number 41 – Continuing Education

The biennial renewal period for dentists runs from January 1 of an even year through December 31 of the following odd year.

Licensed dentists must complete 40 hours of Board-approved continuing dental education (CDE) per biennial period, and, if the dentist prescribes, administers, or dispenses controlled substances, 3 hours of Board-approved CDE on opioid prescribing per period; the source does not state whether those 3 hours count toward the 40-hour total or are required separately.

A licensee's first biennial renewal period, enrollment in full-time post-graduate specialty training, and any renewal period during which the license was inactive are exempt.

Non-in-person CDE must include a post-study examination, records must be kept for at least three years, and the Board conducts random audits; noncompliance penalties escalate from a $500 fine on a first offense up to a $5,000 fine plus a six-month suspension on a fifth offense.

Reinstating a voided or revoked license, or reactivating an inactive license, requires 20 hours of CDE within the prior 12 months and a passing score on the Board's jurisprudence examination.

β€œLicensed dentists must complete (40) hours of Board-approved CDE per biennial renewal period.”

What This Page Does β€” and Doesn’t β€” Cover

This page summarizes the statutes and rules the ADA’s compilation cites for Mississippias of its 29 November 2025 update. It does not list application forms, current fees, background-check steps, or processing times, and it is not a substitute for the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners’s own application instructions.

Accepted examinations, residency substitutes and continuing-education topics change by statute and by board rule. Confirm every requirement with the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners before you register for an exam or submit an application.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which clinical exam does Mississippi accept for a dental license?

The ADA's compilation lists the ADEX examination (administered by CDCA-WREB-CITA) and SRTA.

The Board's own guidance broadens that to accepting completed exams from ADEX, NERB, CITA, or SRTA within five years of completion, and in January 2023 the Board approved a hybrid manikin-or-patient-based clinical examination on a permanent basis.

Confirm the current accepted-exam list with the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners before registering, since accepted examinations change.

Does Mississippi require a residency to become a dentist?

The ADA's compilation does not state a general postdoctoral residency requirement for graduates of CODA-accredited U.S. dental schools.

Graduates of non-ADA-accredited foreign dental schools follow a different pathway that does require at least two years of full-time post-doctoral dental education at a CODA-accredited school, certified by that school's dean as equivalent to its own graduates.

Confirm your specific pathway with the Board before applying.

Can a dentist licensed in another state get a Mississippi license without retaking a clinical exam?

Mississippi has a licensure-by-credentials pathway under Section 73-9-24.

It requires five years of active practice or full-time dental education, a current unrestricted license in a state the Board deems equivalent and that grants reciprocity to Mississippi licensees, endorsements from every state where the applicant is or has been licensed, no pending or final discipline or investigation, a passed clinical exam elsewhere with no failure in the past five years, completed National Boards, and a passing jurisprudence exam score.

The Board grants credentialing licenses at its sole discretion.

How much continuing education does a Mississippi dentist need?

Licensed dentists must complete 40 hours of Board-approved continuing dental education every two years, on a cycle running January 1 of an even year through December 31 of the following odd year, and, if the dentist prescribes, administers, or dispenses controlled substances, 3 hours of Board-approved CDE on opioid prescribing per period; the source doesn't say whether those hours count toward the 40 or are separate.

A licensee's first biennial renewal period is exempt.

Verify current requirements with the Board before your renewal is due.

Find Dentist Jobs in Mississippi
Filter by salary range, benefits, and city.

More Mississippi & Dentist Resources

Sourced from the ADA Council on Dental Education and Licensure, Mississippi Laws & Rules (Updated 29 November 2025). Verified September 2026. This page is general information, not legal advice β€” confirm current rules with the Mississippi State Board of Dental Examiners.